Film Submissions


The Aegean Film Festival has the mission to explore, discover and promote films, ideas and stories that further our kindness and tolerance, our understanding and sensitivity towards each other and towards the environments that surround us.

For this reason we strive to present bold new voices from all over the globe and to support the next generations of filmmakers.

The Aegean Film Festival is a celebration of cinema, making sure our official curated programmes have perfect screening conditions, while the filmmakers and guests are invited to join us on the islands for 12 days every July, since 2010.


Congratulations to the 2022 winners:

Best Aegean Short Film:
No Signal by Adrien Genoudet

Best Greek Short Film:
From The Balcony by Aris Kaplanidis

Jury Special Mention:
Party Poster by Rishi Chandna

Feature Fiction Audience Award:
You Resemble Me by Dina Amer

Feature Documentary Audience Award:
Nothing Compares by Kathryn Ferguson


2022 Film Jury:

CLAIRE DENIS – Director | Chocolat (1988), Beau Travail (1999), Stars at Noon (2022)

PETER VAN HOOF – Film Programmer | Cinema de Balie, Into The Great Wide Open

THANASIS NEOFOTISTOS – Film director, Writer, Head Programmer | DISFF

NIHAN SIVRIDAG – Selection Committee | Berlinale Shorts

Awards & Prizes

Best Aegean Short Film, Jury Award
( including a cash prize of €3,000)

Best Greek Short Film, Jury Award
( including a cash prize of €2,000)

Aegean Special Mention, Jury Award

2023 Film Jury:
To be announced soon ( March 2023)


All Selected filmmakers in the competition programme also receive:

1. Accommodation for three nights (single occupancy).

2. Festival Guest Pass providing access to all screenings, seminars and events.

3. Access to dedicated industry seminars and the “Filmmaker’s Brunch” – presented by industry partners.

4. Film promotion and press focus covered by the Festival’s Media Sponsors.

5. The option for the films to travel and be screened as part of curated programmes with affiliated festivals.

6. AegeanFF Partners Offers, including discounts up to 30% on ferry tickets, restaurants, bars, rentals, hotels.

7. Additional Festival Passes: 40% discount for plus ones to accompany the filmmakers to the islands.

Programme Categories

We welcome feature, narrative, documentary, environmental documentary, short films and animations.

Entries are submitted to the following categories:

Feature Length Films & Documentaries
(duration of 50 minutes or longer)

Short Films & Docs
(duration of less than 30 minutes)

Environmental Feature Length or Short Films and Documentaries.
(duration of 50 minutes or longer for features & duration of less than 30 minutes for shorts)

Earlybird: November 30th, 2022
Regular: February 28th, 2023
Late: May 10th, 2023
Notification Date: May 24th, 2023

Submission Fees
For feature length film and documentary entries:
€28 / €37 / €47 - Early / Regular / Late

For short film and documentary entries:
€14 / €19 / €24 - Early / Regular / Late

How to submit your work

To be eligible, films submitted must have been completed at most 18 months before the event or after January 2022 for the 2023 edition.

Films with significant non-English dialogue must be accompanied by on-screen English subtitles.
Preview files must be sent only as protected links.
The Festival DOES NOT accept DVD or BD screeners.
Please read all the eligibility criteria and terms & conditions on FilmFreeway.

You can submit your film through FilmFreeway:

For any questions please email [email protected]

Programming Team

The selection of the AegeanFF programmes is carried out by 3 independent teams.

A. The judging team, consisting of a diverse group of 20-25 people from more than 10
countries including experienced and emerging filmmakers, artists, film critics, past festival team
members as well as cinema students.

B. The advisory board, contributing with suggestions and ideas for invited shorts and

Advisory Board Members:

Alexander Payne (Film Director, Producer, Script Writer)
Alin Tasciyan (Deputy General Secretary, FIPRESCI)
Elizabeth Woodward (Film Producer, Willa Productions )
Frederic Boyer (Artistic Director, Tribeca Film Festival, Les Arcs Film Festival)
Jesper Jack (Documentary Producer, House of Real)
Joanne Sawicki (Journalist, television producer)
Marco Frazier (Industry Executive)
Nicolas Brown (Documentary Director)
Robert Dick (Festival Development, Sundance Film Festival)
Sam Sutaria (Conservationist, Photographer, Head of Strategy Waterbear Network)
Thanasis Karathanos (Film Producer, Twenty Twenty Vision )

C. The AegeanFF programming team, working also in international film festivals like
RotterdamFF, LondonSFF, TampereFF, BerlinFF and more.

The 2023 festival programming team consists of:
Babis Tsoutsas - Festival Director
Stavros Markoulakis - Head of Programming
Maya Sfakianaki- Programming Coordinator & Shorts Programmer